LA CROSSE, Wisconsin (WXOW) - It's that time of year again. Alternate side parking goes into effect in less than one week.
The La Crosse Police Department issued this release on the rules for alternate side parking:
Effective at 1:00 am on November 1, 2010, alternate side parking goes into effect in the City of La Crosse, until April 1, 2010. The ordinance reads as follows:
9.06(E) Night Parking Alternate Sides of Street.
"Between 1:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m. from November 1 to April 1, vehicles shall be parked only on even numbered sides of the street on those nights when an even calendar date (after midnight), and on odd numbered sides of the street on those nights with an odd calendar date, (after midnight), except where parking is normally permitted only on one side of the street, vehicles may be parked on that permitted side every night."
In September of 2009 an additional ordinance was passed, creating a limited Test Area for Alternate Side Parking Night Parking, Alternate Sides of Street TEST AREA:
Within the test area (20th Street to Main Street to West Ave. to La Crosse Street), vehicles may park on both sides of the street between November 1st to April 1st when it is not a removal period for snow, leaves or otherwise determined by the Director of Public Works or designee. When a removal period is necessary as determined by the Director of Public Works or designee within this area, notification shall be provided through the City Public Web Page and the La Crosse City Watch program and Alternate Side Parking is Required. Removal periods shall remain in effect for 4 days unless rescinded. Notification will be made 7 hours prior to removal period.
Residents living in the Alternate Side Parking test area, may Opt in for Notification on Removal periods by logging into the City Web site at http://www.cityoflacrosse.org/notices and sign up for notification of removal periods.
A $10.00 parking ticket is issued to vehicles not in compliance with the alternate side parking ordinance. If the $10.00 fine is not paid within 10 days, the fine increases to $20.00. If the $10.00 fine is not paid within 45 days from the issuance of the ticket, the fine increases to $40.00. Failure to pay the fine will result in the State of Wisconsin suspending the vehicle's registration, as well as any fines that are due.
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at firstname.lastname@example.org.