Burn Ban in Effect for 11 Wis. Counties - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Burn Ban in Effect for 11 Wis. Counties


MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Dry weather has prompted the Department of Natural Resources to impose emergency burning restrictions in 11 southern Wisconsin counties.

The restrictions take effect at 12:01 a.m. Friday.

The ban includes smoking outdoors, all fireworks, and outdoor disposal of ashes, charcoal briquettes, matches or any burning material. Campfires are allowed only at camping areas within a metal fire ring.

Municipalities with scheduled holiday fireworks are not under the order. But several cities and villages already have postponed or canceled fireworks displays for the Fourth of July.

The counties include all of Crawford, Richland, Sauk, Columbia, Marquette and Green Lake counties, and parts of Iowa, Grant, Dane, Adams and Juneau counties.

The DNR says the ban will stay in place until significant rainfall comes.


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.