Kabat, two others enter crowded La Crosse mayoral race - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Kabat, two others enter crowded La Crosse mayoral race


LA CROSSE, Wisconsin (WXOW)-- More candidates continue to announce their intent to become La Crosse's next mayor.

Tim Kabat announced his plan to run Thursday. Kabat is the Executive Director of Downtown Mainstreet.

Kabat says improving neighborhoods in La Crosse is a top priority, and that his work with area businesses and members of the city council would allow him to bring cohesion to city hall.

"I feel like in city hall, there are a lot of good department heads, a lot of good people, good council members, but there's a need to bring folks together with one vision. I feel like that's something that's been lacking and that's a strength of mine, to bring a diverse group of people together."

According to a list compiled by the City Clerk's office, two others, Dustin Bagstad and Richard Smith, Jr., declared their candidacy on Wednesday.

A total of eleven people have announced they're in the race, although two have already dropped out. Former La Crosse mayor John Medinger announced Wednesday he was dropping out of the race.  Randall Czapiewski left the contest a few days after Medinger announced his intent to run.

The others in the run for mayor are: Randy Magno, Chris Olson, Jon Olson, Craig Nestor, Dae Miles, and Robert Young.

Candidates have until January 2 to gather enough signatures for their nomination papers.  With the number of candidates, a primary race is all but certain.  The date for that vote is February 19th.  The top two will move to the general election on April 2.

Current Mayor Matt Harter said in November that he wouldn't seek a second term as mayor.

Powered by Frankly