Onalaska Hockey wins OT Thriller - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Onalaska Hockey wins OT Thriller


ONALASKA, Wisconsin (WXOW) - Tyler Ebner may only be a freshman, but on Friday night he showed upperclassman poise, delivering Onalaska a share of the MVC hockey title.

The Hilltoppers trailed Tomah 4-0 in the first period, thanks to a rapid-fire scoring spree from the Timberwolves that saw all four goals netted in under two minutes. That included a shorthanded effort from Tim Nicksic.

Gabe Flood and Luke Tepp led the comeback for Onalaska. Goals from each made it a 4-2 Tomah lead at the first intermission. Following another Hilltopper goal, Flood netted the equalizer to end the second period at a 4-4 tie.

Onalaska had all the momentum entering the third, but on a Hilltopper power play Jarrett McDonald put the Timberwolves back in the driver's seat with another shorthanded goal. Facing a similar outcome to their last meeting, Ebner went backhand with a rebound and found the back of the net to send the game to overtime.

Just a few minutes ticked off the clock before Ebner struck again. This time, the Onalaska freshman connected on a game-winning one-timer giving the Hilltoppers a 6-5 win and at least a share of the MVC championship.

With the win Onalaska stands at 6-2 and a half game ahead of the Aquinas Co-op (5-2). The Avalanche can grab the other half of the conference title with a win over Tomah (3-3) on Tuesday.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.