Koenig WI AP Player of the Year; Schneider Coach of the Year - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Koenig WI AP Player of the Year; Schneider Coach of the Year

Bronson Koenig-WI AP Player of the Year Bronson Koenig-WI AP Player of the Year
Rick Schneider, Coach of the Year Rick Schneider, Coach of the Year
Onalaska's Matt Thomas Onalaska's Matt Thomas

LA CROSSE, Wisconsin (WXOW) - A couple of local state champions are honored for their efforts on the court this season.

The Wisconsin Associated Press boys basketball All-State selections named Aquinas' Bronson Koenig as Player of the year and Rick Schneider as Coach of the Year, as voted by a panel of media.

Koenig led the Blugolds to a Division 3 state championship at this year's WIAA tournament in Madison.  The win was the second state title for Schneider in three seasons.

Onalaska's Matt Thomas, who also helped lead the Hilltoppers to a Division 2 appearance at the WIAA, was another First Team selection.

Both players are continuing their careers at the D-1 level next season.  Koenig will return to the Kohl Center to play for Coach Bo Ryan and the Wisconsin Badgers, while Thomas is heading south to play at Iowa State.

Three other area players made Honorable Mention-Christian Kennedy of Luther, Tim Wagner of G-E-T, and Sam Murphy of Royall.

Here's the complete list of those named as All-State:

Player of the year: Bronson Koenig, LaCrosse Aquinas

Coach of the year: Rick Schneider, Aquinas


Bronson Koenig, sr., Aquinas

Luke Fischer, sr., Germantown

Kevon Looney, jr., Milwaukee Hamilton

Matt Thomas, sr., Onalaska

Duane Wilson, sr., Whitefish Bay Dominican


Turner Botz, 6-6, sr., Little Chute

Henry Ellenson, 6-9, soph., Rice Lake

Nick Fuller, 6-6, sr., Sun Prairie;

Jamaar McKay, 6-4, sr., Milwaukee Washington

Diamond Stone, 6-9, soph., Whitefish Bay Dominican


Deonte Burton, 6-4, sr., Milwaukee Vincent

Austin Hawkins, 6-4, sr., Auburndale

Kenneth Lowe, 6-8, sr., Little Chute

Austin Malone-Mitchell, 5-11, sr., Milwaukee King

Cam Ward, 6-2, jr., Marshall


Ben Best, 6-6, sr., Drummond

Toby Hegner, 6-10, sr., Berlin

Brett Prahl, 6-9, sr., East Troy

Jordan Shea, 6-4, jr., Lodi

Cody Wichmann, 6-4, sr., Pulaski


Trevor Anderson, frosh., Stevens Point; Lamonte Bearden, jr., Germantown; Adam Beyer, sr., De Pere; Carson Biedrzycki, sr., Burlington; Dominic Cizauskas, jr., Mukwonago; Malik Clements, jr., Madison West; Deiondre Cunningham, sr., Wisconsin Lutheran; Jerrelle Deberry, jr., Milwaukee Destiny; Will Decorah, sr., Waunakee; M.J. Delmore, sr., Wisconsin Dells; Jason Derby, sr., Cuba City; Carlin Dupree, sr., Milwaukee Bay View; Brady Ellingson, jr., Sussex Hamilton; Terrence Garner, sr., Oak Creek; Caleb Glennon, sr., Amherst; Ethan Guske, sr., Sheboygan North; Joel Heesch, sr., Mauston; David Jesperson, sr., Merrill; John Keefe, sr., Medford; Christian Kennedy, sr., Onalaska Luther; Eric Kittel, sr., Brillion; Joe Latimore, sr., Monroe; Riley LaChance, jr., Brookfield Central; Brett Linzmeier, sr., Two Rivers; D'Angelo Jackson, jr., Racine Case; Nick McGlynn, soph., Stoughton; Aaron Moesch, sr., Green Bay Southwest; Sam Murphy, sr., Royall; Nate Neveau, jr., Oshkosh North; Nick Noskowiak, soph., Sun Prairie; Adam Pohlman, jr., Neenah; Cooper Radtke, jr., Oshkosh North; Aaron Retzlaff, sr., Randolph; Zach Schradle, sr. Clayton; Cody Schwartz, soph., West De Pere; Tyler Semenas, sr., Laconia; Clay Stevens, sr., Racine Lutheran; Reed Timmer, jr., New Berlin Eisenhower; Riley Vander Wyst, sr., Kaukauna; Travis Voigt, sr., Green Bay N.E.W. Lutheran; Tim Wagner, sr,. Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau; Jester Weah, sr., Madison Memorial; Logan Wolf, sr., Elmwood; Joe Whalen, sr., Augusta; Ethan Yonke, jr., Almond-Bancroft.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.