Jefferson Award Winner to Represent La Crosse Area in Washington - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Jefferson Award Winner to Represent La Crosse Area in Washington, D.C.


LA CROSSE, Wisconsin (WXOW)  Twelve local volunteers attended a dinner in their honor with families and friends in attendance.

Those twelve people are Jefferson Award winners, nominated for their commitment to community service.

They spent the evening at Piggy's Restaurant, learning more about one another and how their efforts contribute to the quality of life in the La Crosse area.

WXOW sponsors the Jefferson Awards locally along with Altra Federal Credit Union. 

During the banquet, each monthly Jefferson Award winner was recognized.  Then, one was chosen to represent the La Crosse area in Washington, D.C.

This year's overall winner is David Russell.  Russell is a lawyer in La Crosse who was nominated for his work establishing a free legal clinic in the city.  Russell will travel to Washington in June.

Last year, John Young made the trip.  He received the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Award for outstanding community service benefiting local communities.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at