Republicans introduce eight more election reform bills - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Republicans introduce eight more election reform bills

MADISON (WKOW) -- Sen. Mary Lazich (R-New Berlin) authored and introduced eight new election reform bills this week, several of which would automatically discount certain ballots.

Under one bill, absentee ballots that don't include a valid witness signature would be disqualified.  A separate bill specific to recounts would disqualify all ballots cast by people who did not also sign a poll list.  Another would require local canvassing boards conducting a recount to hear any objections made to ballots cast by people registering on election day.

A number of the new bills also place more requirements on the Government Accountability Board.  One would require the GAB and local clerks to include the type of identification a person used to register to vote on their voter lists.  Another would double the number of nominees the GAB's candidate committee would have to submit to the Governor's office, when the Governor is selecting a new GAB member.

The last three bills would do the following:  require the names of the voters be printed on duplicate ballots issued because the original ballot was damaged; only allow chief election inspectors and one other person, whose party affiliation is different than the chief inspector's, to secure ballot containers; and require that there are an equal amount of election inspectors from each party at the polls.




Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at