State Superintendent praises Sparta school - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

State Superintendent praises Sparta school


MADISON — State Superintendent Tony Evers praised Lawrence Lawson Elementary in Sparta for being among 167 schools in the state that received Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition honors for the 2013‑14 school year during a special ceremony at the State Capitol in Madison.

Evers welcomed Jenna Evans, Darla Schroeder, Holly Larson and Kyla Manske, to the recognition event. Special recognition during the event included 14 High‑Achieving schools and 26 High‑Progress schools, with six schools earning both High‑Achieving and High‑Progress honors. There were five schools that earned Wisconsin Title I School of Recognition honors for 10 consecutive years, and nine schools that earned the award for a fifth consecutive year.

"Partnerships among teachers, parents, administrators, school staff members, and the community contribute to the academic success of students in schools that receive this honor," Evers said.

"Receipt of the School of Recognition award for the fourth year at Lawrence Lawson is an honor. The students staff, parents and community continue to embrace and live by our school's vision statement, 'Excellence For All: Whatever It Takes.' Our implementation of high-quality educational and behavioral programming and continuous focus on best practices contributes to our success," Principal Missy Herek said. "We are grateful for the community and school district's commitment to providing the best educational opportunities and professional development to all of Sparta schools' students and staff."

Superintendent John Hendricks said "Lawrence Lawson Elementary is leading the way in overcoming the challenges faced by schools and districts with a high percentage of students from a low socioeconomic environment. I am proud of their work."

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at