College Team of the Year: UW-La Crosse Men's Cross Country - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

College Team of the Year: UW-La Crosse Men's Cross Country


Team Biography


UW-La Crosse Men’s Cross Country


UW-La Crosse


Derek Stanley – Head

Katie Wagner – Assistant

Kevin Gries – Assistant

*Team Awards and Accomplishments (include winter and spring sports of 2012-2013 school year, and fall sports of 2013 school year):

Team Champions – UW-River Falls Invitational

Runner Up - Roy Griak Invitational (Division II race)

Team Champions – UW-Eau Claire Invitational

Runner Up – Jim Drews Invitational

Team Champions – Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Meet

NCAA National Qualifying Team

3rd Place – NCAA DIII National Cross Country Championships

Team Record: 169-8

WIAC Sportsmanship Award – Jacob Peterson

WIAC Scholar-Athlete Award – Josh Dedering

WIAC Runner of the Week – Nate Routhier

WIAC 2nd Team – Alex Ciesielski, Josh Dedering, Garrett Kerska, Jacob Peterson

WIAC Honorable Mention – Tom Linner, Andrew Rohlman

National Runner of the Week – David Stilin

All-Region Selection – Alex Ciesielski, Andrew Rohlman, Jacob Peterson, Josh Dedering, Nate Routhier

WIAC Coach of the Year

Favorite Sports Memory:

Runner-up in the DII race in the rain at the Roy Griak Invitational.

Kicking to a conference championship in the final straight-away.

Near botched race strategy at Regionals to earn a spot at the national championship.

Standing on awards at the national championship.

Non Athletic Activities Accomplishments and Awards:

USTFCCCA Academic All-American Team – Team GPA of 3.1+.

Community Service:


-Hixon Forest maintenance.

-Enchanted Forest – Myrick Park.

Click here to return to the main College Team of the Year.
Powered by Frankly