UW-L Men Repeat As Indoor Track and Field Champions - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Lincoln, NE. (UW-L)

UW-L Men Repeat As Indoor Track and Field Champions


Lincoln, Neb. - The University of Wisconsin-La Crosse men's track & field team captured its 17th National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III indoor championship Saturday afternoon in the Bob Devaney Sports Center.  The 17 indoor crowns are the most in NCAA Division III history. The Eagles finished with 63.5 team points Saturday, winning their second straight indoor title and 10th in the last 14 seasons.

UW-L has now won a nation-leading 29 NCAA Division III championships in school history (17 indoor; 12 outdoor).  The 12 outdoor crowns are also the best in Division III history, including the 2013 championship held at Roger Harring Stadium at Veterans Memorial Field Sports Complex. 

UW-Eau Claire placed second Saturday with 48.0 points while UW-Oshkosh was third with 37.5.  Wartburg College (Iowa) finished fourth with 26.0 points and Mount Union University (Ohio) was fifth with 25.5. UW-Whitewater placed sixth (25.0) followed by North Central College (Ill.) in seventh (21.0), Carthage College (Wis.) and UW-Stout tied for eighth (18.0) and Central College (Iowa) was 10th (17.0). A total of 68 teams scored points.

UW-L's Alex Koenen earned a pair of individual NCAA III All-America honors Saturday, placing third in the 60-meter dash (6.78) and seventh in the 200-meter dash (21.80).  It is the second and third career All-America awards for Koenen after finishing fifth in the 60-meter dash last season.

The Eagles' Ross Denman placed fourth in the 400-meter dash (48.18) while Jacob Peterson was fifth in the mile run (4:10.40) to earn individual All-America accolades Saturday.  It was the first career All-America honor for Denman and third award for Peterson.  Peterson was a member of UW-L's fourth-place distance medley relay Friday night and the national champion distance medley relay in 2013.

Denman picked up his second All-America honor of the championships in the final event Saturday as a member of the 4x400-meter relay as Zak WallenfangDean McGuire,Nick Tehan and Denman finished third (3:14.81). Tehan earned his third career All-America award after being a member of the third-place 4x400-meter relay in 2013 and sixth-place distance medley relay in 2012. Wallenfang and McGuire each picked up their first career All-America award.

In other results Saturday, UW-L's Ben Tenpas placed ninth in the shot put (52-0) while Dominique Neloms was 11th in the high jump (6-6 1/4).  Neloms capture the national long jump title (24-1 1/2) in Friday's action.  He became the fourth UW-L student-athlete to capture the indoor long jump championship, joining Bill Schroeder (1993), Andy Basler (2002) and Kellen McCrary (2010).

UW-L opens its 2014 outdoor season hosting the Ashton May Invitational April 5.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.