Eight high school seniors recognized for their achievements - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Most Viewed Content


Eight high school seniors recognized for their achievements

LA CROSSE, Wis.. (WXOW)- 8 Seniors from area high schools were recognized today for their achievements.  That recognition came from the  La Crosse Kiwanis Club.  The Kiwanis Club develops programs to enhance the education, recreation and safety of the children, young adults and their families.

The award honors one senior from each of the eight area high schools including Aquinas, Central, Logan, Onalaska, Onalaska Luther, La Crescent, Holmen and West Salem.  The unique thing about this scholarship is it has nothing to do with grades.  Recipients are honored for being a "good kid" who is an achiever in his/her own way.  The recipient is also chosen by school staff members.  Each student received a $300 scholarship to be used for after graduation.  Students are able to use their money on anything they want from school supplies to tuition. 

Macey Berg, from Onalaska Luther High School, stated, "I feel amazing because my faculty picked me and I feel blessed that they saw how hard I worked."

This year marks the 39th year the La Crosse Kiwanis Club awarded scholarships.  They have given away a total of $65,000 between then and now.  Also, their scholarships started off at $100 and now students are receiving a $300 scholarship.  A list of the recipients are listed below.

2014 Scholarship Recipients:

Aquinas- Amy Fuller
Central- Annie Erickson
Holmen- Lawrence Jones
La Crescent- Jon Wilson
Logan- Choua Vang
Luther- Macey Berg
Onalaska- Connor Every
West Salem- Samuel Eckelberg


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.