Boys & Girls Club inducts two new members to Wall of Fame - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Boys & Girls Club inducts two new members to Wall of Fame

La Crosse, WI (WXOW) -

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) – The Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater La Crosse added two new members to their Wall of Fame on Friday evening.

The Boys & Girls Club inducted Mary Jo Werner and Bob Allen into the Wall of Fame at the 29th Annual Wall of Fame Recognition Banquet at the Waterfront Cargill Room.

Allen, who has served on the Board of Directors for the Boys & Girls Club for the past 25 years, said he felt “honored”, but his colleagues deserve more credit for their hard work as well.

“It is very humbling and I’ve always thought that was so cliche to say. But it really is. Once they tell you that you are in, when you know how many people help make this work, to single someone out doesn’t seem fair so it is really an honor. It’s a huge honor,” Allen said.

Werner, who has volunteered at Boys & Girls Clubs in Greater La Crosse for the past 20 years, said she feels proud to be a key part of a “great organization”.

“It is very humbling. I was very surprised when I got that call. It’s an awesome organization, and I’m very honored,” Werner said.

The Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater La Crosse also honored Bob Hubbard with the Adult & Youth Award, Johnny Brevik and Garrett Jerue with the Distinguished Service Awards, John Thorsen with the President’s Award, and Trust Point with the Corporate Award.

Most Viewed Content

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at