Walker promotes dairy policy in Barre Mills - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

What's on WXOW tonight

Walker promotes dairy policy in Barre Mills

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) - Governor Scott Walker traveled to a dairy farm in Barre Mills to promote his agricultural policies.

On Thursday he stopped by Lane Creek Dairy Farm owned by Jeffrey and Jo Berg.

The Governor said his goal is to improve the long-term viability of the state's dairy industry with a goal of farmers producing 30-billion pounds of milk by 2020. Wisconsin dairy farmers produced 27.6 billion pounds of milk in 2013

The Governor announced today state grants of up to five thousand dollars to 43 farms throughout Wisconsin. Walker said, "When people talk about cheese, you can see its not just pizza. You see it in advertisements for burgers and everything else. They want Wisconsin cheese. There's something special. If you're in New York, Los Angeles or anywhere around the world saying you've got good Wisconsin cheese on it. There's something special and extraordinary about that."

The Berg farm received one of these grants in 2012 which allowed them to expand.

Other area farms awarded grants are:

·         Joe Bragger, Independence
·         Ryan Dunnum, Westby
·         Michael Fremstad, Westby
·         Nick Mlsna, Cashton
·         Chris Peterson, Cashton
·         Danika Wehling, Westby
·         Paul Wehrs, West Salem

Most Viewed Content

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.