Central Wis. counties split on same-sex marriage licenses - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Central Wis. counties split on same-sex marriage licenses

MARATHON COUNTY (WAOW) - Counties across Wisconsin are split Monday, as some are and some are not issuing same-sex marriage licenses. A federal judge declared Wisconsin's ban on gay marriage unconstitutional Friday, but did not order counties to start issuing licenses.

Newsline 9 contacted 11 county clerks. Seven of them, including Adams, Forest, Lincoln, Oneida, Marathon, Price and Portage counties are not issuing licenses at this time. Clerks say they're waiting to hear from the Department of Vital Records before making any decisions.

Some couples went to the courthouse to get their license, but were denied.  They say they're disappointed, but haven't given up.

"This is just a bump in the road for us,” said Patrick Bacher of Wausau. “We've been together for 10 years, we'll be together for longer. We'll still get married in the state we were born in and the state we call home, which is Wisconsin. But we'll just have to wait a little longer I guess."

Four counties, Taylor, Langlade, Vilas and Wood, are issuing licenses. Clerks say they have spoken with their legal counsel.

Republican Attorney General J.B. van Hollen is seeking an emergency order in federal court to stop licenses from being issued.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WXOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Theresa Wopat at 507-895-9969. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.