Some local counties granting same-sex marriage applications, som - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Some counties granting same-sex marriage applications, some not

Posted: Updated:
MADISON (WKOW) -- Here's a look at how local counties are handling same-sex marriage applications after Friday's federal court ruling that declared Wisconsin's same-sex marriage ban unconstitutional.

Dane, Green, Rock and Juneau counties are granting applications to same-sex couples and waiving the waiting period to marry.

Iowa, Columbia and Dodge counties are granting the applications but not waiving the waiting period.

Grant, Green Lake, Jefferson and Richland counties say they are waiting for further clarification on Friday's ruling either from the state or their legal counsel.

A number of clerks are expressing frustration with state office of Vital Statistics, which they look to for guidance on any changes with the law concerning marriage. They say the office has issued no advisories nor guidance on the matter at all.

Vital Statistics is a part of the Wisconsin Department of Health Services. A DHS spokesperson says Vital Statistics is not issuing guidance to county clerks, because they are waiting on guidance from Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen's Department of Justice.

Lafayette and Sauk counties say they're waiting to see what happens at Monday 1:00 p.m. hearing in federal court. U.S. Judge Barbara Crabb called the hearing on Van Hollen's emergency motion to stay her ruling from Friday. Van Hollen argues Judge Crabb's order didn't immediately strike down the law and he is seeking to have her clarify that point.

27 News will cover that 1:00 p.m. hearing and bring you the latest in live reports in 27 News at 5 and 6 this evening.

27 News is waiting to hear back on our calls to the clerks in Adams, Walworth, Marquette and Crawford counties.

Powered by Frankly