Schleper, Young capture Dan Nagy Memorial titles - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Schleper, Young capture Dan Nagy Memorial titles

Posted: Updated:
La Crosse, WI (WXOW) -

Sarah Schleper and Joseph Young captured slalom titles at the 11th Annual Dan Nagy Memorial on Sunday.

The event serves as the second of three qualifying events for the U.S. Ski Team. The final event will be held in Vail, Colorado in late February, followed by the U-19 Nationals.

On Sunday, Schleper completed the course in 50.71 seconds to finish the weekend with a total time of 1:39.32, nearly a second better than Madeleine Dekko. Kaitlyn Vesterstein finished third with a total time of 1:40.96.

La Crosse's Abby Leinfelder finished 15th with a total time of 1:47.23.

In the men's slalom, Young had the fasted time of the day at 43.24 seconds to finish with a weekend total of 1:24.40. Justin Alkier finished second with a total of 1:26.48 while Max Hall was third with a time of 1:26.52.

Local racer Alex Harris finished 21st with a time of 1:32.43.

More results can be found here.

Powered by Frankly