Koenig Named Candidate for Bob Cousy Award - WXOW News 19 La Crosse, WI – News, Weather and Sports |

Copy-Koenig Named Candidate for Bob Cousy Award

Posted: Updated:

Just days into the new season, Wisconsin senior guard Bronson Koenig enters the year being named to the watch list for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award, announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Monday.

Koenig is now a two-time honoree and joins Jordan Taylor (2011, ’12), Trevon Hughes (2010) and Kammron Taylor (2007) as the only Badgers in program history to be named to the preseason watch list for the prestigious award. Taylor went on to become a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award in 2011, as did Devin Harris as runner-up in 2004.

One of 20 candidates named to the watch list, Koenig was a third-team All-Big Ten honoree last season after he finished second for the Badgers in scoring (13.1 ppg) and assists (84). He enters his senior campaign having started each of the last 59 games for the Badgers, who Koenig helped guide to the Sweet 16 for the fifth time in the past six seasons – the only team in the nation to do so.

An all-around scorer, Koenig enters his senior season needing just 71 points and 27 assists to become the 14th player in UW history with at least 1,000 points and 250 assists. Possessing great vision and the ability to deliver pinpoint passes, Koenig led the Big Ten in 2015 with a 3.0 assist-to-turnover ratio (98-33) among players with at least 90 assists. For his career, he owns a 2.2 assist-to-turnover ratio, which currently ranks fourth in school history.

2017 Bob Cousy Award presented by College of the Holy Cross Candidates

Jalen Adams                  Connecticut

Maurice Watson Jr.         Creighton

Jack Gibbs                      Davidson

Frank Jackson                   Duke

Nigel Williams-Goss        Gonzaga

Monte Morris                   Iowa St.

Frank Mason                     Kansas

De'Aaron Fox                    Kentucky

Melo Trimble                    Maryland

Joel Berry II                       North Carolina

Dennis Smith                    North Carolina State

Jawun Evans                      Oklahoma State

Lonzo Ball                          University of California, Los Angeles

Jordan McLaughlin          University of Southern California

Jalen Brunson                   Villanova

London Perrantes            Virginia

Seth Allen                          Virginia Tech

Markelle Fultz                   Washington

Bronson Koenig                Wisconsin

Edmund Sumner              Xavier

* Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2016-17 season

(UW Athletics contributed information to this article)

Powered by Frankly