Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.

WATCH: WXOW honors Jefferson Award winners from the past year

  • Updated
  • 0
Jefferson Awards-WXOW-720×405

LA CROSSE, Wis. (WXOW) - WXOW honors the people who make our community a better place.

On Thursday evening, we broadcast a special program looking back at the past year's Jefferson Award winners.

You can learn about all of them here.

The Jefferson Award was launched in 1972, founded by Jackie Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft Jr., and Sam Beard. The idea was to create a Nobel Prize for public service.

Today, the primary purpose of the award is to serve as a call to action for volunteers in local communities.

For years now, WXOW has partnered with Altra Federal Credit Union to recognize some amazing volunteers, making a difference in the lives of others and inspiring all of us to give back in new ways.

Find out more about the WXOW Jefferson Awards

The show airs again on WXOW-TV on Sunday, June 20 at 1:30 p.m.